Kentucky law requires all out of state vehicles and salvage vehicles to be inspected by a certified inspector. Johnson County Sheriff’s Office has several certified inspectors on staff that can do this for you. You may bring your vehicle to the sheriff’s office or you can have an officer come to your residence. The cost for a vehicle inspection is $5.00 at the sheriff’s office or $15.00 for an on site inspection. You will need the title to your car, your driver’s license and a Kentucky Application for Title.
You may call the sheriff’s office during normal business hours for inquiries about vehicle inspections at 606-789-3411.